Complaint / review / scam report
Acer
POOR SERVICE AND SERVICE DISGRACE

I wrote the following letter to ACER afetr it took them 4 attempts to fix my machine, which I bought for a new job (in which I was given and had to have a laptop), I lost my job due to ACER taking 43 days in total to fix and repair it and then send me a replacement.

I have been advised by Andy Rivett that there is nothing that can be done, and thats it, I want compensation for not being able to wortk for 43 days.

The letter sent is as below

Dear Andy

This letter is a complaint about how my cases have been managed in relation to my Acer Aspire 8930G Laptop repairs between Acer and the Info Team.

S/N LXASY0X4429130060D2300 – Aspire 8930G

Purchased on 8th June 2009

each and every time that my laptop came back from the Info Team, it came back with different or more problems.

You will see below a confirmed history of this, this was sent my Angela Foster at the Info Team.

I bought this laptop as I had been accepted for a job in which one of the factors is that I would have my own laptop.

Since the first case (12th June 2009) I have not been able to use the laptop for a total of 43 days, this impacted on my work, as I could not do my job without my laptop, these I did not get paid for and left me in some hardship.

The final Case (case 4) where Miss Angela Foster promised that a new laptop would be sent to me on the 7th September 2009 was broken and told that a full refund would be awarded instead.

This did not help my situation as my employer had advised me that due to meeting scheduals I had to have a laptop or face my contract being terminated.

I was then told that a replacement 8930G could not be found but a lesser spec 8920G could be and that a refund of the difference would be accepted by myself., this i accepted as I need this laptop asap. I was then advised that a 8930G was available but this was sent out after I had been dismissed from my emplyment because of not having the materials needed when I started my job.

I am now out of full time work and on Jobseekers Allowance, and I owe this fact to Acer/Info Team.

I would also like to seek some sort of compensation for the fact that I had no laptop for a total of 43 days in which I could not work.

I would like someone to contact me from head office asap, I have taken advise from a trading standards representative on this matter and would like Acer to cooperate in this matter as well.

As advised above the Laptop History is below.

LXASY0X4429130060D2300 – Aspire 8930G

Purchased on 8th June 2009

First case – case ID 769848N created 12th June 2009 as DOA, with the following issue: unit will restart whenever any shutdown option is chosen, whether it be hibernate or shut down. Will not install any update, unable to configure. will not boot into windows normally, only into safe mode. Password: nigel26

Received in our warehouse on the 17th June 2009, engineers report states - Replaced I/O board and HDD. Performed complete recovery on HDD and also updated windows through the Microsoft website with no errors. Passed all functional tests. No longer restarts but shuts down when expected. Unit shipped to the customer on the 19th June 2009. Customer received unit on 22nd June 2009.

2nd case created on 27th July 2009 with the problem – Right hand side rear USB socket don't work, other one work correctly. Touchpad scroller intermittently stops working and then restarts. Machine will see wireless router but refuses to see any connected machines, all other machines connect fully, connectivity keeps dropping out. E sata socket is unable to find anything plugged into it. Volume is much lower than previous to the repair. Power DVD now causes the unit to crash. *******Pri or to 1st repair these faults were there, recovery has been performed.******** Unit received in warehouse on the 30th July 2009, engineers report states – Replaced mainboard and tested thoroughly. Unable to find any fault with replacement mainboard fitted. Unit was shipped to the customer on the 12th August 2009. Customer received unit on 13th August 2009.

3rd Case created 13th August 2009 815981N, with the problem - ***FAO SENIOR TECH*** CUST STATES THE WRONG MAINBOARD HAS BEEN PUT IN THE SCREEN SEEMS TO HAVE A GREEN TINGE, HE ALSO STATES THAT THE CASEING IS NOT PUT TOGEATHER RIGHT. PASSWORD: NIGEL26. Unit received in warehouse on the

17th August 2009. Unit was authorised for replacement by Acer and replacement delivered to the customer on 4th September 2009.

4th case created 4th September by Angela as customer has received replacement and it is faulty straight out of the box, Angela has liaised with Acer and Acer have agreed that we will send out a replacement unit before receiving t he faulty unit. Full and Final letter has been sent to customer.

9th September, Angela has spoke with the customer and confirmed that a replacement unit will be sent out with the courier today and once delivered, Angela will contact customer to arrange collection of the faulty unit.

In relation to the final replacement, when I recieved this, there was no battery in the box.

The service I have recieved from Acer/Info Team is utterly disgusting, people lying, and not just not delivering on the promises being made.

I have never in my time of buying electronics experienced shoddy workmenship on any repairs that I have ever needed undertaken.

I look forward to hearing from you in the very near future and I hope this can be resolved very quickly.

Kind Regards

=0 A

Nigel Whorlow
Author: djsebastien


Offender: Acer

Country: United Kingdom   Region: England   City: Folkestone

Category: Computers & Services

0 comments

Information
Members, of group Guest, can not leave comments on this publication.
Please register on our website, it will take a few seconds.